Eight U.S. Athletes Travel to Cup of China

(11/5/19) - The United States will send eight athletes to compete at 2019 Cup of China this week in Chongqing, China. Competition starts on Friday, Nov. 8 with the short programs and rhythm dance, and closes on Saturday, Nov. 9 with the free skates and free dance. Official practice will be held on Thursday, Nov. 7. The event is the fourth stop on the ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating Series.

Recently added to the event, Amber Glenn will represent the U.S. in China. Glenn made her second career Grand Prix appearance at 2019 Skate America presented by American Cruise Lines in October where she finished seventh.

Camden Pulkinen
is the sole U.S. man heading to China. Pulkinen finished fourth at his Grand Prix debut at Skate Canada International, and looks to find a spot on the podium in his second appearance.

In the pairs competition, Tarah Kayne and Danny O’Shea will make their first stop on the Grand Prix circuit. The 2019 U.S. pewter medalists finished fourth at U.S. International Figure Skating Classic in September.

The United States will send two ice dance teams to China. Madison Chock and Evan Bates won the silver medal at Internationaux de France, marking their 11th straight podium finish in the Grand Prix Series. They will compete to secure their spot in the 2019 Grand Prix Final. Kaitlin Hawayek and Jean-Luc Baker finished fourth at Skate Canada International and look to make their way onto the podium in China.

Fans can watch the entire event live, commercial-free and on-demand with the Figure Skating Pass on NBC Sports Gold. Fan can also watch NBC’s recap show on Sunday, Nov. 10 from 12-1:30 p.m. ET.

The Grand Prix Series, now in its 25th season, consists of six international events in a cumulative point-scoring format. Approximately 300 athletes from 30 countries are expected to participate in the series. Each athlete is eligible to score points in up to two of the six scheduled events. The top six point-earners in each discipline qualify for the 2019 ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating Final, set for Dec. 5-8, in Torino, Italy.







Camden Pulkinen

Scottsdale, Arizona

Colorado Springs, Colorado


Amber Glenn

Plano, Texas

Euless, Texas


Tarah Kayne
Danny O’Shea

Bradenton, Florida
Gurnee, Illinois

Colorado Springs, Colorado

Ice Dance

Madison Chock
Evan Bates

Novi, Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan


Kaitlin Hawayek
Jean-Luc Baker

East Aurora, New York
Edmonds, Washington