Haydenettes Accept 2004 Readers' Choice Award At Smart Ones Skate America

The Haydenettes
Photo by Paul Harvath

(10/24/04) - 2004 U.S. synchronized skating champions the Haydenettes accepted the 2004 SKATING magazine Readers' Choice Skater of the Year Award Michelle Kwan Trophy today at Smart Ones Skate America, in Pittsburgh, Pa. The Haydenettes, who also appeared in the exhibition at Skate America, are the first synchronized team to win the Readers' Choice Award.

The presentation of the Michelle Kwan Trophy was made during an ice resurface in the course of the exhibition. SKATING magazine editor Amy Partain presented the award to the Haydenettes.

"We are absolutely thrilled to be voted Readers' Choice Skater of the Year, especially since we are the first synchronized skating team to win the award," said Haydenettes coach Lynn Benson. "The award brings great recognition to the sport, and it is wonderful to see the fan support toward synchronized skating."

The Haydenettes continued their dominance at the 2004 U.S. Synchronized Skating Championships, capturing the title for the 14th time. In the past season, the Haydenettes also captured the silver medal at the Neuchatel Trophy and finished one spot out of medaling at the 2004 World Synchronized Skating Championships, placing fourth. The team was formed in 1979 and is comprised of athletes at the high school or college age - some of whom are from the team's training town in Lexington, Mass., and others who have moved from all across the country to skate with the team.

Haydenettes co-captains Cindy Kim and Cathleen Renzi, coach Lynn Benson, and SKATING magazine Editor Amy Partain

The full title of the award is the "Readers' Choice Skater of the Year, Michelle Kwan   Trophy." In 2003 Kwan won her seventh Readers' Choice Award. She is the only skater in the history of the award to win it more than once. To recognize her accomplishments, SKATING magazine and U.S. Figure Skating named the trophy in her honor. Kwan is no longer eligible to win the award.

Sasha Cohen, who SKATING magazine readers co-selected as Skater of the Year, was unable to attend the event due to injury and will receive her Michelle Kwan Trophy at a later date.

SKATING magazine Readers' Choice Award Winners:
2004 Haydenettes, Sasha Cohen
2003 Michelle Kwan  
2002 Michelle Kwan
2001 Michelle Kwan
2000 Michael Weiss  
1999 Michelle Kwan
1998 Michelle Kwan
1997 Tara Lipinski
1996 Michelle Kwan
1995 Todd Eldredge
1994 Michelle Kwan
1993 Scott Davis
1992 Paul Wylie
1991 Tonya Harding
1990 Jill Trenary
1989 Kristi Yamaguchi