Six Skaters Honored with PSA 'Edi' Awards

(5/16/08) - The Professional Skaters Association (PSA) announced in the latest issue of Professional Skater Magazine the recipients of the 'Edi' Awards, which recognize the top performances in each discipline at the U.S. Figure Skating Championships.

This year's winners are:

Best Ladies Performance: Mirai Nagasu, "I Got Rhythm" short program
Best Men's Performance: Adam Rippon, "Moonlight Sonata" free skate
Best Pairs Performance: Keauna McLaughlin & Rockne Brubaker, "Romeo & Juliet" free skate
Best Dance Performance: Meryl Davis & Charlie White, "Kalinka" original dance

The 'Edi' Awards are given in recognition of Edi Scholdan, a World and Olympic coach and a first vice president of the PSA who perished in the plane crash that killed the 1961 U.S. World Figure Skating Team.

Other 'Edi' Award recipients, including Kristi Yamaguchi, will be announced at the PSA Awards Dinner Thursday, May 22 at the Hyatt Regency O'Hare hotel in Rosemont, Ill. Yamaguchi will receive the organization's Sonja Henie Award, which is presented each year to a female professional skater "who has brought recognition to the sport in a positive and favorable manner."

Bookmark and Share